And The Divide Just Keeps Getting Bigger -Gender Post-

For those of you that don’t know the definition of gender over sex, let me explain: sex is what most people mean when they say gender, but sex is only your sexual characteristics (a penis for a male, vagina for a woman, etc.) while gender is the way you feel and the way society treats you. Most people, being cisgendered (their gender matches their sex) don’t really see the problem here. Society is always cisgendered, right? Except for those pesky transsexuals.

More people than you may think might be transgendered. Society has formed a definitive gap in our society, at least in America: female, male. Most people don’t see a problem with this. The problem comes in when someone’s transgendered. Many people know that they’re not their assigned birth sex, even when they’re children. Our society so genders children that those who really should be treated differently than others of their birth sex are ignored, even shunned. Their parents think something’s wrong with them. Most religion targets it as well, and religious trans people like me can find that intimidating.

Even then, when the child grows up, they are only forced into more gender restraints as a teenager and young adult; To look presentable, women must wear makeup. Men must wear suits. Girls are expected to love sparkles and pink and cooking, while men lay back and watch TV, or play sports.

What I’m saying is this gender divide isn’t as big as it used to be, but it is still large. There are individuals who challenge it and screw with society’s perception of gender, but they are too few and the masses to great. I wish I could have lived in a world where I was raised gender neutral as a child, but I wasn’t. I just hope we can in the near future.

About lanceofwolves

I'm an asexual genderqueer otaku sci-fi geek who plays video games. :3
This entry was posted in Gender. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And The Divide Just Keeps Getting Bigger -Gender Post-

  1. Ace Amoeba says:

    I’ve gone to the hospital where I was born to get my birth records and because I was born before a certain date they were unavailable. My records are a paper copy buried somewhere in a storage area and the resources aren’t there to fetch them. If I were born a few years later this wouldn’t be a problem as the records would be electronic and easy to locate.

    Iv’e come to the conclusion that I might be better off not knowing. The grass is always greener on the other side. For example I was afforded the privledge of growing up being raised gender neutral and yet I wonder how I would have turned out if I were raised as my assigned sex. I’m certainly grateful for who I am, and while my road was the path less traveled, there is a curiousity for the more traveled road that I’ve never walked through.

    Great post!

  2. This is a wonderful post and may be one that can be followed up to see how things go

    A close friend sent this link the other day and I’m excitedly looking your next write-up. Keep on on the first-rate work.

  3. Unearthed your blog post via live search the other day and absolutely enjoy it. Continue the fantastic work.

Leave a Reply

