A Question Of Rights -Gender Post-

I apologize for the not-having-a-post-in-a-week thing I pulled there. Seriously. School sucker punched me.

Anyway, something’s been weighing on my mind lately. Homosexuality, as most people know, has progressed a lot in the last couple of decades, although it still needs working on. However, I don’t feel like transgendered people are taken very seriously by the general public.

Outside of the LGBTQ group ‘transgendered’ people are a relatively new thing. The trans community is generally represented by the people dressed in strange clothing at pride parades. Or that’s what most people think of, anyway. When I’m not fighting off my considerably conservative upbringing that’s what I think of. And considering I’m genderqueer/agender myself, that’s pretty bad.

Watching an episode of Degrassi confirmed these thoughts, at least within my own family. My brother and father did not know the meaning of the word transgendered, nor did they really expect there to be FtMs. They didn’t know what to call Adam, the show’s transgender character, because they hadn’t ever been presented with the idea of a female-bodied male.

Gay rights has definately hit the main stream, you can’t deny that. But Trans rights haven’t. I hope I see that change within my lifetime. It would be awesome to get my official sex changed to ‘neutral’.

About lanceofwolves

I'm an asexual genderqueer otaku sci-fi geek who plays video games. :3
This entry was posted in Gender. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Question Of Rights -Gender Post-

  1. aaron says:

    Can I print out this out to use in my class?

Leave a Reply

