NaNoWriMo: Week 1 Report

Basically, this is the worst ever week 1. Not only did I fail at my storytelling device, I was forced into being a panster by God.

The Sunday before NaNo was where all the trouble started. As I was about to go over to my Grandmother’s house for our annual Halloween Party, I decided I might as well get everything ready for NaNo. Memory card, check. Super Awesome notebook in which I will write? Check. Laptop? check. Character bios? Check. Outline? …outline?

So I flipped the house upside down and inside out for my incredibly elusive outline. It seems someone had moved it since our last encounter. I was quickly going into panic mode, when the call for the last train to grandma’s sounded. I went, knowing full well that yes, I might have to become a panster by force this year.

I did. I couldn’t find my story outline. It was November 1st, so I started anyway. I knew what I wanted done, so I went along with it, only to be bogged down by my next horrifying bogger: My narrative device.

This year I was planning on having a Snicket Narration. That plan failed absolutely as it turns out I am lousy at it. With the first two days it felt like an eternity just to keep up the pace, and I only made it a few words ahead every day’s minimum count.

Eventually I got rid of the absolute stylistic suck that was my novel, and instead wrote a more grounded, less heavy-handed narration. I handed over the rest to my good friend SJ so she could edit the whole thing as I sended and wrote it.

Around Thursday I’d started to feel sick. Not the cold kind of sick, just physically unwell. I dragged myself to the computer at seven o’ clock for Thursday and Friday to complete the very minimum word count.

At this point the story gets better. Yesterday, Saturday, I went to a write in for my local county, and got two thousand words ahead of schedule thanks to four hours of uninterrupted writing time. I came home, went to Slackers, and got Stranger Than Fiction and a Bleach box set for dirt cheap. Today I’ll be heading to another County to go to another write-in, where I may add more to me aheadedness.

Oh, and being a Pantster isn’t so very bad after all.

About lanceofwolves

I'm an asexual genderqueer otaku sci-fi geek who plays video games. :3
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

