NaNoWriMo: Week 3

As I exit the third week and enter the home stretch on track, I wonder how it went by so quickly. Last Sunday feels like yesterday. And I’ll tell you one thing: The benefits weren’t exaggerated.

I might want to clarify this beforehand: half the week, I was behind, because I skipped a few days. But when I wrote, I wrote. I had inspiration, not time. But my prose was better and less plot-holed than week 2. Not to mention the internet was extremely distracting, and now I’m debted to make several Christmas cards for people out of the state/in Ontario. I also skipped out on a hell of a lot of homework.

But there was something special about this week: I was immersed in the story. The characters, the plot, and for once, I let my imagination write instead of sticking to my mental outline. Sure, my editor might have been a little disappointed, but it can all be fixed later.

I also realized how in need of redemption my novel was, perhaps more so than last year. The whole thing is poorly structured and a bit random. The beginning is uninteresting and slow. But that doesn’t matter.

Because I am falling in love with my novel again.

See, at the end of September, I was pumped for my NaNo. If I weren’t asexual I might have imagined stroking the sexy, sexy book and breathing in its intoxicating smell. But by the middle of October, I was ready to give away some of my characters and make half of them vampires already. And by November, I was barely enthused enough to begin.

But now, I’m ready. I love the novel. The characters have suddenly become interesting and my premise is taking off, and I’m so very happy to be close to be writing the climax.

About lanceofwolves

I'm an asexual genderqueer otaku sci-fi geek who plays video games. :3
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

