Radical Feminists and Transgendered People [Gender Post]

First of all, let me get this out of the way: Radfems piss me the fuck off. Sorry for the language, but they do. I understand feminism, I do. I understand the movement to lift sexism out of language, professional pursuits, and people’s minds. What I do not understand is hating men for being men. You cannot say, ‘he’s a MAN’ as a justification for someone being LGBTQ-phobic/misogynist/etc. Nor can you use ‘She’s a WOMAN’ as justification for anything ever.

And then you have the transphobic radfems. They speak in baby-talk when talking about our identites, our struggles, and our lives. Which, as much as they might say otherwise, is a form of erasure. Believe it or not, being told we aren’t who we say we are does actually hurt. Because we’ve been told that our whole lives, because people wouldn’t stop saying it. I don’t know how to articulate how it feels to have no support of your identity in real life. Radfems wouldn’t know that, of course, since they themselves aren’t transgender; yet they act like they can dictate reality because they’re special snowflakes.

And, for the record, yes, I consider myself somewhat of a feminist; I don’t do activism work in real life, but I do make an effort to educate myself on the subject. But radfems are the reason I didn’t want to consider myself a feminist in the first place. I was afraid, as a transgendered person, that I would be rejected, met with scorn, and generally pissed off by the hate radfems perpetuate.

So, to you, radfems:

  • Do not police my gender.
  • Do not police my clothes.
  • Do not police my language.
  • Do not act superior to me. We are equals. Except for the fact that, you know, it’s socially unacceptable to be trans, especially genderqueer, and therefore I hurt my chances of gaining a respectable career and family if I do decide to transition.
  • Do not threaten me. I have never threatened you. I will never threaten you. I do not believe in violence, I do not believe in senseless hate. The world would be a better place if you didn’t.

And there ends my message.

Haters gonna hate and all that jazz.

 

About lanceofwolves

I'm an asexual genderqueer otaku sci-fi geek who plays video games. :3
This entry was posted in Gender. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

